A-Z Databases

Already Have a Citation?

If you have a citation, you can search for the full-text by using the Article Full Text Finder. If you are trying to find access to a particular journal, go to the Journal Publication Finder to see if we have print or online access.

Clinical Resources

American Dragon Treatment Protocols This link opens in a new window
This free resource includes a cross-referenced databases on medical conditions, single herbs, formulas (in both Pinyin and Latin) and points. Database compiled and managed by Joel Penner, author of Zang Fu Syndromes.
Sacred Lotus This link opens in a new window
Sacred Lotus is a robust resource that provides reference information on TCM Theory, Diagnosis, Herbs, Formulas, and Acupuncture in an easy-to-use web format.

Scholarly Resources

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource was designed for the premier researcher, rich with the most valuable, comprehensive multidisciplinary content available. As a leading scholarly database, it provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources.
Help Guide Available: http://support.ebsco.com/tutorials/
AcuTrials This link opens in a new window
Created by OCOM's own Research Department, AcuTrials is a comprehensive collection of citations to randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews that address the use of acupuncture for a variety of health conditions.
Alt-Health Watch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated health care. Also includes many acupuncture and Oriental medicine titles.
Help Guide Available: http://support.ebsco.com/tutorials/
Classical Chinese Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This site features articles, videos, lectures, and practical demonstrations by Heiner Fruehauf, Ph.D., L.Ac, and a group of like-minded scholars in China seeking to honor and restore the classical origins of Chinese medicine. Additional content is available to OCOM students, faculty and staff.
Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
EBSCOhost -- All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From here, you can see all of our EBSCO databases, including Academic Source Premier, MEDLINE Complete, AltHealth Watch, and AMED.
Help Guide Available: http://support.ebsco.com/tutorials/
Gale -- All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
There are 27 different Gale databases to choose from, but we've pre-selected the most relevant databases relating to medical research, including Academic OneFile, Health Reference Center Academic, and the Nursing and Allied Health Collection. This aggregator also includes a number of general reference databases, including a range of topics such as the fine arts, history, home improvement, pop culture, and legal information.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search for scholarly literature using Google's familiar search engine. Not as precise as using a database like PubMed, but can be a good starting point to help narrow down your search.
Help Guide Available: https://library.ocom.edu/guides/subjects/guide.php?subject=database-tutorials#tab-3
Medline Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences. MEDLINE is also available via PubMed
Help Guide Available: https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/MEDLINE-Ultimate-Tutorial?language=en_US
OCOM Journal Article Index (JAI) This link opens in a new window
Database of bibliographic citations from AOM journals that are not currently indexed in PubMed. All the journals indexed in this database can be found in the OCOM library.
PRIMO Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Search the combined catalogs of OCOM, OHSU, NUNM, and UWS. Articles and conference proceedings can be searched by changing the search scope to OCOM + PAHL + Articles.
Help Guide Available: https://library.ocom.edu/guides/subjects/guide.php?subject=primo
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. MEDLINE is also available via EBSCOhost.
Help Guide Available: https://library.ocom.edu/guides/subjects/guide.php?subject=database-tutorials
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 journals and almost 20,000 books. OCOM has access to a number of full-text journals and books; for articles that do not include full-text, click on the Find at OCOM link to get access.
Help Guide Available: http://help.sciencedirect.com/flare/Content/tutorials/sd_menu.html
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use WorldCat to find book titles from libraries across the country. You can request titles and have them delivered to OCOM for pickup.
Help Guide Available: https://library.ocom.edu/guides/subjects/guide.php?subject=database-tutorials

Other Resources

Multnomah County Library has an excellent collection of electronic resources, including databases, eBooks, and reference resources. These resources are free to all library patrons, so visit your local branch to get set up with a library account.

CultureGrams

Search for up-to-date facts and cultural information about countries around the world. You can also research U.S. states and Canadian provinces.

JSTOR

Database of peer-reviewed and scholarly resources, including a collection of primary sources.

Mango Languages

Interactive online language learning site with over 40 language options available, including Cantonese.

LinkedIn Learning for Libraries

Online learning courses for a variety of subjects, including web design, art and music production, and computer skills.

Hoopla

Collection of streaming video, audiobooks, comics and music available for instant checkout.